Day Seven: Avocado Milkshake

Finally. The last day of the Weird Food Challenge is here. Even though the last day was technically supposed to be yesterday… I spent yesterday checking out the Getty Museum and Villa instead. It was well spent, but alas, I’m behind one day. This has been a fun, but stressful experience. Prior to starting, I already had 3 recipes planned, which made the first 3 days easy, but when I started running out of ideas, it got hard. And sometimes, even though I had ideas, I didn’t have the necessary ingredients, which was incredibly frustrating. 

Image

Tasting the concoctions was by far the most interesting part, however. It sometimes proved to be even more stressful than the process of making the foods (ahem ketchup macarons). The winner of the week was definitely the bacon cheesecake while many competed for the worst spot, I think the ketchup macarons took it. Most didn’t turn out as bad as I expected, which was relieving because I didn’t know what I was going to do with all this food. I do admit that a lot went into the freezer, and will probably get tossed in a months time. I did learn something from this seemingly pointless challenge. Try new foods and try to mix seemingly disparate ingredients together, because you never know what the result will be. It could be as disgusting as you expected, but it could also be amazing. Despite being tired of it after a week, I know that from now on when I bookmark recipes, I’ll take note of the sketchy ones. 

Image

So, today was the last day of spring break. Which means… time to do all the homework I put off during the week. I didn’t have much time to make something complicated, so I just threw together an avocado smoothie. I’ve never made any healthy or “green” smoothies before, and this is the greenest I’ve gone (even thought there’s ice cream in this). On day one, I made avocado truffles, and they turned out better than I thought, so I expected the same for this. It didn’t disappoint, partly because I expected it to not taste good. The ice cream dominated the flavor, while the avocado provided a nice taste to it. I wouldn’t drink this over say, a strawberry shake, but it definitely was not in the bad category. 

Rating: 8/10

Avocado Milkshake (Adapted from Jesus Saves Mary Spends)

1/2 ripe avocado

1/2 cup vanilla ice cream

3/4 cup milk

Blend all the ingredients together in a blender until smooth. And that’s it. 

 

Leave a Reply

