Day Six: Strawberry Tofu Mousse

I like strawberries. I like tofu (I have to note that I do hate soymilk and can’t stand the taste). These are the two main ingredients for the strawberry tofu mousse, so I thought, what could go wrong? You throw everything into a blender, refrigerate it for a couple hours, and ta da! Easy mousse. 

Image

After I added about half of the strawberries, I stuck my finger in for a taste test. It tasted like strawberry soy milk (refer back to my second sentence). Things weren’t looking good, as I was stupid to think that blended up tofu would taste different from soy milk. But then I proceeded to add the rest of the strawberries in, and thankfully, the strawberries mostly covered the soy taste. I had an issue though – this was like a milkshake. No way was this a mousse, and panicking, I added some gelatin and threw it into the freezer. 

Image

Here I am, an hour and a half later, holding in my hands a half mousse – half milkshake concoction. To complete the challenge, I have to make something every single day, and since the sun was setting, I needed to take a couple pictures before the sun was gone. Therefore, at this point in time, I have no idea if this strawberry tofu milkshake will completely set into a mousse yet, but I can tell you that for a strawberry tofu milkshake, it’s quite good. Top it with some fresh strawberries, and it makes a wonderful snack. 

Rating: 8/10

Strawberry Tofu Mousse (Adapted from Whipped Baking)

8 servings

12 ounces tofu, patted dry

1/2 cup sugar

2 cups strawberries, hulled and halved

1. Blend all ingredients together in a blender until smooth. Refrigerate to thicken.

Leave a Reply

