Day Two: Ketchup Macarons

With my slight obsession with macarons, you didn’t think I would pass on an opportunity to make some crazy macarons, did you? Of course not. 

Image

I first saw the recipe for these ketchup macarons on David Lebovitz’s blog a couple years ago, and I was intrigued. He said that it was Pierre Herme’s recipe, and Pierre Herme is basically my hero. No joke. Pierre Herme has never failed me thus far, and I decided to put utmost faith in his capabilities by going ahead and making this. Because honestly – it sounded disgusting. And David Lebovitz didn’t even sound like he really enjoyed them, either. 

I have nothing against ketchup. In fact, I quite enjoy my ketchup on a hot dog, or dipping my fries in them. Replacing a buttercream or ganache filling with the same amount of ketchup was seriously pushing my boundaries however. My biggest fear was the possibility of hating ketchup afterwards. A couple months ago, my friend and I decided to do the Chubby Bunny challenge (a game where you try to stuff as many marshmallows in your mouth as you can, whilst saying “chubby bunny” after each one) on the last day of english class. Let’s just say, I haven’t had a marshmallow since. If you couldn’t tell, I hold food grudges. And this fact makes me nervous, because since I already dislike mustard, what else am I going to put on my hot dogs if I can no longer handle the taste of ketchup? What a travesty…

Image

But I soon got over myself and I made them. On the outside, they looked harmless. You could mistake them for maybe strawberry macarons, with a jam filling. Looks are deceiving though. I took a little bite, and I swear, I started feeling dizzy. My dad had the same reaction, but strangely, my mom was not so adverse to it. She thought it was better than she expected (which were probably at barely edible level). It’s not that it was incredibly gross, it was just really not good. The pickles also really didn’t help the situation. I refused to take another bite, but the friend who ate all the truffles almost ate three whole ones. She didn’t particularly like them either, though. 

Ranking: 3/10 (I feel like a Dancing with the Stars judge) 

Ketchup Macarons (Adapted from Pierre Herme’s Macarons)

Follow the recipe on Foolproof Macarons: The How-to Guide for the shells. When beating the meringue, add 7-8 drops of red food coloring. 

Ketchup filling:

40 g Heinz Ketchup

1 teaspoon finely diced pickles

2 tablespoons water

3 g powdered gelatin

1. Sprinkle the gelatin over the water. Microwave it for 10-15 seconds to dissolve the gelatin in the water. Stir to remove any lumps.

2. Spoon some of the ketchup into the gelatin, and mix well. Don’t add the gelatin into the ketchup, as it might lump up. 

3. Add the pickles. Let the gelatin set a little in the refrigerator first for about 15 minutes or so. Pipe onto the shells, and immediately return to the fridge to let it finish setting up. Do not let it sit out at room temperature before it has harden because the ketchup mixture is quite wet. 

 

4 thoughts on “Day Two: Ketchup Macarons

Leave a Reply

