Day One: Avocado Truffles

So I thought I would start off with an easier one. Ease myself into it, you know? I had come across this recipe whilst searching for a recipe on good ol’ chocolate truffles. When I first read the title, I was dubious. Avocado truffles? Err… Keep in mind, however, that I’m a little wary of these kinds of foods.

DSC_7914

However, since I’ve decided to do the Weird Food Challenge (which I actually made up…), I’m going for it.

Despite the fact that they’re called truffles, they are definitely different from the chocolate truffles that we know and love. You basically make guacamole… then start adding cocoa powder to it. The moment when the cocoa powder first hit my previously untouched guacamole, I had a mini crisis. What am I doing with my life? WHY AM I KILLING THIS POOR GUACAMOLE? As I continued to add the cocoa, the avocado started to disappear and it ended up a fudge-y consistency. I threw it into the freezer, rolled it into small balls, and dusted it with a layer of cocoa powder.

First of all – I made a mistake. I didn’t add enough butter, so the “ganache” (can you call it a ganache?) didn’t actually solidify and it would melt at room temperature (and half melted avocado truffles is not pretty, trust me). The one big thing that surprised me was that the avocado taste was not prominent at all. Despite the fact that avocado is the main ingredient, it only gave the truffles a slightly nutty taste that if I were to give someone a truffle without telling them it as made of avocados, they might not even figure it out. However, the fact that I knew these were made of avocados made the avocado taste stand out more. Most people were too afraid to try it, but one of my friends absolutely loved them and probably ate seven.

Ranking: 7/10 (not bad)

DSC_7920

Avocado Truffles Adapted from whatscookingamerica.net

1/4 cup melted butter

1/2 avocado, peeled and pit removed

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1 cup powdered sugar

Cocoa powder, for dusting

1. In a large saucepan, on low heat, melt the butter

2. In a blender, blend the avocados until smooth and no lumps. You may need to add a little bit of the melted butter over to loosen the mixture.

3. Add the avocados and the rest of the ingredients into the sauce pan, and mix well.

4. Let the mixture harden in the refrigerator. Roll into balls, and dust with cocoa powder. Firm it up in the fridge again. Serve.

One thought on “Day One: Avocado Truffles

Leave a Reply

